Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Lack of understanding. MAY I start by offering my sympathy to those people who do not understand what Aboriginal people have to go through before they are accepted into the wider community.. As for the Welcome to Country and smoking ceremony, well

by
Riverine Herald
May 11 2017
Opinion

Swap anxiety for gift of optimism

APPARENTLY the old saying goes ‘what you don’t know won’t hurt you’ and there’s probably some truth in that.. It’s not until you hear about the gossip that someone spread about you, that you actually feel the hurt.. It doesn’t change

by
Riverine Herald
May 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Welcome to Country backlash. REGARDING the story of the opening of the new Echuca Fire Station and the absence of a ‘welcome to country/smoking’ ceremony, one point so far overlooked is these ceremonies usually come with a price tag running into

by
Riverine Herald
May 04 2017
Opinion

A view that’s too narrow as to miss the truth

A Christian family was visiting Esperance over Easter and a father and his 17-year-old daughter went surfing.. Tragically, she was fatally mauled by a shark.. It was reported that the family was a devout Christian family and she went to a strong

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 28 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

‘Mentality needs to change’. VICTORIANS from Mildura to Melbourne are feeling the effects of criminals who no longer fear punishment, who see the court as a short-term hindrance rather than an institution of justice.. Youth criminals especially

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 27 2017
Opinion

Crossroads- Good time...

I ONCE worked alongside a lovely chap who considered himself a fervent atheist.. Consequently, things relating to Jesus, church, faith, eternity, heaven or hell were absolute nonsense as far as he was concerned.. These topics only ever got credence

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Your Opinion

ECHUCA-MOAMA is on the move. Not with any great fanfare but the very fabric of the twin towns is being altered.. Slowly, but surely, there has been a seismic shift in our very infrastructure – the nuts and bolts of the towns which don’t

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

The true celebration of Easter

Who is Jesus: A man or the Son of God?. EASTER is a bit like Christmas, but unlike Christmas where Santa or a nativity scene is placed in windows. For Easter, shopfronts are decorated with chocolate bunnies, covered in multi-coloured tin foil to lure

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Fallacious claim. THOUGH chuffed to see women’s footy helping to further keep soccer at bay, I take serious issue with AFLW star Erin Phillips’ fallacious “letting us marry is a ‘basic human right’,” and her finding some Australian

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Lifestyle

Frankie, Dylan and me. But you really had to be there

Start spreading the news. I am leaving today. I want to be a part of it. New York, New York. WE WERE five weeks into a whirlwind US trip and what better way to finish than in the Big Apple.. Our New York City adventure was complete – from staying

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Opinion

Keeping it light

LAST month the oldest institution in Australia celebrated its 200th anniversary.. It wasn’t a bank or a footy club, but the Bible Society.. They didn’t celebrate with cake, but with a creative campaign.. One element of which was the source of

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 07 2017
Opinion

Now that’s what I...

Globetrotting journalist DAVID CHAPMAN completes his Icelandic story with a look at the country’s Golden Circle tourist trail which covers all the things you would expect to find in a country called Iceland.. THE Golden Circle tourist trail is

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Classic’s improving cod numbers. LET’S give a little credit where credit is due.. Your article ‘Environmental benefits are flowing’ (Riverine Herald, March 29) states water releases near Mathoura are boosting Murray cod populations – for

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Amazing donations. Five years ago the Riverine Herald reported the sponsorship of a cancer research program at Peter Mac. Led by Dr. Nicole Haynes, the research has led to genuine advances combining immunology with radiation therapy. By balancing

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 29 2017
Opinion

Take the time and use it well

IT SEEMS that in contemporary society we have very low tolerance for waiting – for anything that is.. We want it all and we want it now.. Our modern lifestyles have conditioned us to expect things to come to us in record time.. Our microwave

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 25 2017
Opinion

An investment for the future

As a show of commitment to country Victoria, The Liberal Nationals Coalition in government delivered 250 CFA stations across the state as part of a $125 million investment.. The completion of the new $2.3 million Echuca Fire Station in High St South

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 23 2017
Opinion

Having a grand old...

LET’S just say I have never been the biggest fan of hiking. There is something about mixing dirt and sweat which isn’t my favourite cocktail.. But when you are looking down on the granddaddy of grandest canyons in the world, you tend to get an

by
Vivienne Duck
Mar 22 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

More support for abottoir closure. I TOTALLY agree with Jenny Moxham’s compassionate letter (Riverine Herald, March 15) ‘One less abattoir is good for humanity’.. After decades of being brainwashed by the meat and livestock industry and Dairy

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 22 2017
Opinion

Looking for a balanced...

THE circus is in town, not that I was able to go this time, but when I do go I really love watching the trapeze artist walking the tightrope, often without the safety net.. Have you ever wondered how they can balance on such a narrow rope?. I think

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 17 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text