Opinion

Having a grand old canyon time

LET’S just say I have never been the biggest fan of hiking. There is something about mixing dirt and sweat which isn’t my favourite cocktail.. But when you are looking down on the granddaddy of grandest canyons in the world, you tend to get an

by
Vivienne Duck
Mar 22 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

More support for abottoir closure. I TOTALLY agree with Jenny Moxham’s compassionate letter (Riverine Herald, March 15) ‘One less abattoir is good for humanity’.. After decades of being brainwashed by the meat and livestock industry and Dairy

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 22 2017
Opinion

Looking for a balanced life

THE circus is in town, not that I was able to go this time, but when I do go I really love watching the trapeze artist walking the tightrope, often without the safety net.. Have you ever wondered how they can balance on such a narrow rope?. I think

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 17 2017
Opinion

Letters to the editor

Use the force, Dan. DEAR Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews,. I was not surprised by the frenzied headlines of Wednesday’s Herald Sun, considering (a) the Murdoch press and (b) the opportunistic date the small sample poll was taken.. However, while

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 15 2017
Sport

Cricket for the...

THE weekend’s A grade cricket finale was one of the more dramatic and nerve-wracking sporting contests I have ever witnessed.. Rochester United’s fightback from 7/67 to chase down 130 included an unbeaten 25 run last wicket stand to snatch grand

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 15 2017
Opinion

Relatively speaking

What underlies the huge socio-cultural wars throughout the western world?. Issues like freedom of speech, marriage, pro-life, euthanasia are to name but a few.. It is true to say that most people are conditioned by what they have been fed through

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 11 2017
Opinion

Hope that our...

It has been a dark week for Echuca-Moama.. The drowning murder of a five-year-old boy in the Murray last Thursday night has shocked us all.. A deep sadness hangs in the air.. It has affected everyone in the community and the reaction has been

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 10 2017
Opinion

Echuca-Moama is a fantastic place to live

ECHUCA-MOAMA is a fantastic place to live. Everybody seems to know everybody, and when it comes to kicking the can to support good causes, and each other, few do it better than the twin towns.. But that cannot, that must not, be used as a veneer to

by
Andrew Mole
Mar 09 2017
Sport

Alex Mitchell

Last week’s Sportstar Awards were the perfect introduction for me to Echuca-Moama’s immense sporting culture, and they left me with a clear realisation; the recognition of local sports talents is vastly more in country towns, and that’s a good

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 08 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

There’s problems but how do we fix them?. I WAS very interested reading an article in the Riverine Herald where Leo Welch and Brett Sands criticised the state of the Victoria Park boat ramp.. I would have to agree as I too have had trouble there

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 08 2017
Opinion

Lent offers fresh start

This Wednesday we began Lent for 2017 with the distribution of ashes.. Those who presented themselves would have heard the celebrant say, as the ashes were placed upon their forehead in the form of a cross: “Turn away from sin and believe the Good

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 04 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

White Night wonder. WHEN White Night Melbourne transformed the CBD into a wonderful world, it was a world filled with vivid colour, music, dance and a big sense of community. And down on Collins St, the Swing City dance marathon really got

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 02 2017
Opinion

A moment like this is...

THE sheer pettiness of party politics was played out in Echuca-Moama on Monday with the long awaited and long overdue opening of the VicRoads office in Echuca.. For locals waiting for generations for the construction of a bigger bridge across the

by
Andrew Mole
Mar 01 2017
Opinion

Poltergeists, quasars, vampires, wolfmen, witches and what...

HOW do you prepare to confront your worst fear?. If you’re me, no preparation is needed. That would be too easy.. The better alternative, and of course the only alternative, is to worry myself sick.. That really is the key for me.. And such was my

by
Tyla Harrington
Feb 27 2017
Opinion

Jesus: a model for friendship

BRITISH writer CS Lewis once wrote: “The typical expression of opening friendship would be something like, ‘What? You too? I thought I was the only one’.”. This friendship is open to us with God.. We are all too aware of our human tendency

by
Riverine Herald
Feb 24 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Rubbish roo-bish claims. ONLY three kangaroos for every 10 football fields in the Griffith region? (‘Claims a lot of roo-bish’: Riverine Herald, February 15). Well that would account for the fact that I have never seen one on the Mathoura oval

by
Riverine Herald
Feb 22 2017
Opinion

Good for one, but not...

A WHILE back we were invited out of town along with another couple to a mutual friend’s place for dinner.. We all have these friends. You love them, but you don’t love their food, it’s burnt, it’s raw, it’s anything but cooked.. After

by
Riverine Herald
Feb 18 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

MDBA chief Glyded past questions. PLEASE allow me to make comment on the recent MDBA’s public meeting held in Moama.. This meeting was given lengthy media advertising and Phillip Glyde (chief executive of the Basin Authority) made very clear its

by
Riverine Herald
Feb 16 2017
Opinion

There’s no slowing...

BURIED amongst the ‘‘in memoriam’’ section of the Herald Sun on Monday, barely four lines long, was a tribute to skier Tim Driver.. Monday, February 13, marked the seventh anniversary of his death during the 2010 Southern 80 ski race.. The

by
Jessica Gledh...
Feb 16 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text