Opinion

The true celebration of Easter

Who is Jesus: A man or the Son of God?. EASTER is a bit like Christmas, but unlike Christmas where Santa or a nativity scene is placed in windows. For Easter, shopfronts are decorated with chocolate bunnies, covered in multi-coloured tin foil to lure

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Fallacious claim. THOUGH chuffed to see women’s footy helping to further keep soccer at bay, I take serious issue with AFLW star Erin Phillips’ fallacious “letting us marry is a ‘basic human right’,” and her finding some Australian

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Lifestyle

Frankie, Dylan and me. But you really had to be there

Start spreading the news. I am leaving today. I want to be a part of it. New York, New York. WE WERE five weeks into a whirlwind US trip and what better way to finish than in the Big Apple.. Our New York City adventure was complete – from staying

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Opinion

Keeping it light

LAST month the oldest institution in Australia celebrated its 200th anniversary.. It wasn’t a bank or a footy club, but the Bible Society.. They didn’t celebrate with cake, but with a creative campaign.. One element of which was the source of

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 07 2017
Opinion

Now that’s what I...

Globetrotting journalist DAVID CHAPMAN completes his Icelandic story with a look at the country’s Golden Circle tourist trail which covers all the things you would expect to find in a country called Iceland.. THE Golden Circle tourist trail is

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Classic’s improving cod numbers. LET’S give a little credit where credit is due.. Your article ‘Environmental benefits are flowing’ (Riverine Herald, March 29) states water releases near Mathoura are boosting Murray cod populations – for

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Amazing donations. Five years ago the Riverine Herald reported the sponsorship of a cancer research program at Peter Mac. Led by Dr. Nicole Haynes, the research has led to genuine advances combining immunology with radiation therapy. By balancing

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 29 2017
Opinion

Take the time and use it well

IT SEEMS that in contemporary society we have very low tolerance for waiting – for anything that is.. We want it all and we want it now.. Our modern lifestyles have conditioned us to expect things to come to us in record time.. Our microwave

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 25 2017
Opinion

An investment for the future

As a show of commitment to country Victoria, The Liberal Nationals Coalition in government delivered 250 CFA stations across the state as part of a $125 million investment.. The completion of the new $2.3 million Echuca Fire Station in High St South

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 23 2017
Opinion

Having a grand old canyon time

LET’S just say I have never been the biggest fan of hiking. There is something about mixing dirt and sweat which isn’t my favourite cocktail.. But when you are looking down on the granddaddy of grandest canyons in the world, you tend to get an

by
Vivienne Duck
Mar 22 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

More support for abottoir closure. I TOTALLY agree with Jenny Moxham’s compassionate letter (Riverine Herald, March 15) ‘One less abattoir is good for humanity’.. After decades of being brainwashed by the meat and livestock industry and Dairy

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 22 2017
Opinion

Looking for a balanced...

THE circus is in town, not that I was able to go this time, but when I do go I really love watching the trapeze artist walking the tightrope, often without the safety net.. Have you ever wondered how they can balance on such a narrow rope?. I think

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 17 2017
Opinion

Letters to the editor

Use the force, Dan. DEAR Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews,. I was not surprised by the frenzied headlines of Wednesday’s Herald Sun, considering (a) the Murdoch press and (b) the opportunistic date the small sample poll was taken.. However, while

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 15 2017
Sport

Cricket for the spectator

THE weekend’s A grade cricket finale was one of the more dramatic and nerve-wracking sporting contests I have ever witnessed.. Rochester United’s fightback from 7/67 to chase down 130 included an unbeaten 25 run last wicket stand to snatch grand

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 15 2017
Opinion

Relatively speaking

What underlies the huge socio-cultural wars throughout the western world?. Issues like freedom of speech, marriage, pro-life, euthanasia are to name but a few.. It is true to say that most people are conditioned by what they have been fed through

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 11 2017
Opinion

Hope that our brightest moments can follow our darkest days

It has been a dark week for Echuca-Moama.. The drowning murder of a five-year-old boy in the Murray last Thursday night has shocked us all.. A deep sadness hangs in the air.. It has affected everyone in the community and the reaction has been

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 10 2017
Opinion

Echuca-Moama is a...

ECHUCA-MOAMA is a fantastic place to live. Everybody seems to know everybody, and when it comes to kicking the can to support good causes, and each other, few do it better than the twin towns.. But that cannot, that must not, be used as a veneer to

by
Andrew Mole
Mar 09 2017
Sport

Alex Mitchell

Last week’s Sportstar Awards were the perfect introduction for me to Echuca-Moama’s immense sporting culture, and they left me with a clear realisation; the recognition of local sports talents is vastly more in country towns, and that’s a good

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 08 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

There’s problems but how do we fix them?. I WAS very interested reading an article in the Riverine Herald where Leo Welch and Brett Sands criticised the state of the Victoria Park boat ramp.. I would have to agree as I too have had trouble there

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 08 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text