Opinion

Walsh targets our soaring power bills

Editorial Opinion. Peter Walsh. Member for Murray Plains. THE Peddles have a difficult decision to make.. The South Gippsland dairy farmers employ 11 people on their Yarram property and for up to six months every year they irrigate – at a cost

by
Riverine Herald
Sep 29 2017
Opinion

Murray River Council election: Opinion

Election advice. I REFER to the upcoming council elections.. We are most fortunate to have five candidates for the Greater Murray Ward.. In particular we have three new aspirants without any baggage, wanting to serve their community.. They should

by
Riverine Herald
Aug 30 2017
Opinion

If you can’t make the commitment... OPINION Tyla...

THE most disappointing thing about Murray River Council’s forum was the apologies from so many candidates.. People attended the MRC forum on Thursday night so they could make an informed vote before heading to the polls next month.. But that

by
Riverine Herald
Aug 25 2017
Opinion

Letters to the editor

It’s time Ewan. WHAT’S a conversation about marriage equality without Ewan McDonald?. I wondered when he’d pop his head out of his foxhole, and he didn’t disappoint in your August 16 edition.. Ewan, the answer to your

by
Riverine Herald
Aug 23 2017
Opinion

Just make the bloody...

THE pettiness of Canberra politics often overshadows the inability of those august individuals to do the job they were actually elected for.. To govern.. Increasingly, as in the US, our politicians govern by polls. If the polls are bad it can spark

by
Andrew Mole
Aug 23 2017
Opinion

Encourage one another...

I DON’T know about you but I love to hear good news, and my favourite news program is Channel Seven’s Sunrise lately.. They have been presenting good news stories each day, which breaks the constant hearing of the bad news.. On June 27

by
Riverine Herald
Jul 07 2017
Opinion

The why and the...

AS A parent there is no question that I struggle with more than when one of my children asks ‘Why?’ (Actually I can think of one question more difficult to answer, but thankfully that one is still a way off being asked in our household).. As

by
Riverine Herald
May 19 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Lack of understanding. MAY I start by offering my sympathy to those people who do not understand what Aboriginal people have to go through before they are accepted into the wider community.. As for the Welcome to Country and smoking ceremony, well

by
Riverine Herald
May 11 2017
Opinion

Swap anxiety for gift of optimism

APPARENTLY the old saying goes ‘what you don’t know won’t hurt you’ and there’s probably some truth in that.. It’s not until you hear about the gossip that someone spread about you, that you actually feel the hurt.. It doesn’t change

by
Riverine Herald
May 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Welcome to Country backlash. REGARDING the story of the opening of the new Echuca Fire Station and the absence of a ‘welcome to country/smoking’ ceremony, one point so far overlooked is these ceremonies usually come with a price tag running into

by
Riverine Herald
May 04 2017
Opinion

A view that’s too...

A Christian family was visiting Esperance over Easter and a father and his 17-year-old daughter went surfing.. Tragically, she was fatally mauled by a shark.. It was reported that the family was a devout Christian family and she went to a strong

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 28 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

‘Mentality needs to change’. VICTORIANS from Mildura to Melbourne are feeling the effects of criminals who no longer fear punishment, who see the court as a short-term hindrance rather than an institution of justice.. Youth criminals especially

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 27 2017
Opinion

Crossroads- Good time...

I ONCE worked alongside a lovely chap who considered himself a fervent atheist.. Consequently, things relating to Jesus, church, faith, eternity, heaven or hell were absolute nonsense as far as he was concerned.. These topics only ever got credence

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Your Opinion

ECHUCA-MOAMA is on the move. Not with any great fanfare but the very fabric of the twin towns is being altered.. Slowly, but surely, there has been a seismic shift in our very infrastructure – the nuts and bolts of the towns which don’t

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

The true celebration of Easter

Who is Jesus: A man or the Son of God?. EASTER is a bit like Christmas, but unlike Christmas where Santa or a nativity scene is placed in windows. For Easter, shopfronts are decorated with chocolate bunnies, covered in multi-coloured tin foil to lure

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Fallacious claim. THOUGH chuffed to see women’s footy helping to further keep soccer at bay, I take serious issue with AFLW star Erin Phillips’ fallacious “letting us marry is a ‘basic human right’,” and her finding some Australian

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Lifestyle

Frankie, Dylan and me....

Start spreading the news. I am leaving today. I want to be a part of it. New York, New York. WE WERE five weeks into a whirlwind US trip and what better way to finish than in the Big Apple.. Our New York City adventure was complete – from staying

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Opinion

Keeping it light

LAST month the oldest institution in Australia celebrated its 200th anniversary.. It wasn’t a bank or a footy club, but the Bible Society.. They didn’t celebrate with cake, but with a creative campaign.. One element of which was the source of

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 07 2017
Opinion

Now that’s what I...

Globetrotting journalist DAVID CHAPMAN completes his Icelandic story with a look at the country’s Golden Circle tourist trail which covers all the things you would expect to find in a country called Iceland.. THE Golden Circle tourist trail is

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text