Opinion

Letters to the editor

It’s time Ewan. WHAT’S a conversation about marriage equality without Ewan McDonald?. I wondered when he’d pop his head out of his foxhole, and he didn’t disappoint in your August 16 edition.. Ewan, the answer to your

by
Riverine Herald
Aug 23 2017
Opinion

Just make the bloody decision

THE pettiness of Canberra politics often overshadows the inability of those august individuals to do the job they were actually elected for.. To govern.. Increasingly, as in the US, our politicians govern by polls. If the polls are bad it can spark

by
Andrew Mole
Aug 23 2017
Opinion

Encourage one another and make it good news

I DON’T know about you but I love to hear good news, and my favourite news program is Channel Seven’s Sunrise lately.. They have been presenting good news stories each day, which breaks the constant hearing of the bad news.. On June 27

by
Riverine Herald
Jul 07 2017
Opinion

The why and the wherefore

AS A parent there is no question that I struggle with more than when one of my children asks ‘Why?’ (Actually I can think of one question more difficult to answer, but thankfully that one is still a way off being asked in our household).. As

by
Riverine Herald
May 19 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Lack of understanding. MAY I start by offering my sympathy to those people who do not understand what Aboriginal people have to go through before they are accepted into the wider community.. As for the Welcome to Country and smoking ceremony, well

by
Riverine Herald
May 11 2017
Opinion

Swap anxiety for gift...

APPARENTLY the old saying goes ‘what you don’t know won’t hurt you’ and there’s probably some truth in that.. It’s not until you hear about the gossip that someone spread about you, that you actually feel the hurt.. It doesn’t change

by
Riverine Herald
May 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Welcome to Country backlash. REGARDING the story of the opening of the new Echuca Fire Station and the absence of a ‘welcome to country/smoking’ ceremony, one point so far overlooked is these ceremonies usually come with a price tag running into

by
Riverine Herald
May 04 2017
Opinion

A view that’s too narrow as to miss the truth

A Christian family was visiting Esperance over Easter and a father and his 17-year-old daughter went surfing.. Tragically, she was fatally mauled by a shark.. It was reported that the family was a devout Christian family and she went to a strong

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 28 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

‘Mentality needs to change’. VICTORIANS from Mildura to Melbourne are feeling the effects of criminals who no longer fear punishment, who see the court as a short-term hindrance rather than an institution of justice.. Youth criminals especially

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 27 2017
Opinion

Crossroads- Good time to find out who Jesus is

I ONCE worked alongside a lovely chap who considered himself a fervent atheist.. Consequently, things relating to Jesus, church, faith, eternity, heaven or hell were absolute nonsense as far as he was concerned.. These topics only ever got credence

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Your Opinion

ECHUCA-MOAMA is on the move. Not with any great fanfare but the very fabric of the twin towns is being altered.. Slowly, but surely, there has been a seismic shift in our very infrastructure – the nuts and bolts of the towns which don’t

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

The true celebration...

Who is Jesus: A man or the Son of God?. EASTER is a bit like Christmas, but unlike Christmas where Santa or a nativity scene is placed in windows. For Easter, shopfronts are decorated with chocolate bunnies, covered in multi-coloured tin foil to lure

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 13 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Fallacious claim. THOUGH chuffed to see women’s footy helping to further keep soccer at bay, I take serious issue with AFLW star Erin Phillips’ fallacious “letting us marry is a ‘basic human right’,” and her finding some Australian

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Lifestyle

Frankie, Dylan and me. But you really had to be there

Start spreading the news. I am leaving today. I want to be a part of it. New York, New York. WE WERE five weeks into a whirlwind US trip and what better way to finish than in the Big Apple.. Our New York City adventure was complete – from staying

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 12 2017
Opinion

Keeping it light

LAST month the oldest institution in Australia celebrated its 200th anniversary.. It wasn’t a bank or a footy club, but the Bible Society.. They didn’t celebrate with cake, but with a creative campaign.. One element of which was the source of

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 07 2017
Opinion

Now that’s what I call Iceland

Globetrotting journalist DAVID CHAPMAN completes his Icelandic story with a look at the country’s Golden Circle tourist trail which covers all the things you would expect to find in a country called Iceland.. THE Golden Circle tourist trail is

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Classic’s improving cod numbers. LET’S give a little credit where credit is due.. Your article ‘Environmental benefits are flowing’ (Riverine Herald, March 29) states water releases near Mathoura are boosting Murray cod populations – for

by
Riverine Herald
Apr 05 2017
Opinion

Letters to the Editor

Amazing donations. Five years ago the Riverine Herald reported the sponsorship of a cancer research program at Peter Mac. Led by Dr. Nicole Haynes, the research has led to genuine advances combining immunology with radiation therapy. By balancing

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 29 2017
Opinion

Take the time and use...

IT SEEMS that in contemporary society we have very low tolerance for waiting – for anything that is.. We want it all and we want it now.. Our modern lifestyles have conditioned us to expect things to come to us in record time.. Our microwave

by
Riverine Herald
Mar 25 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text